Being Thankful

When I had just graduated from law school and before I become a teacher of blind and visually impaired students, one of my former classmates said something curious to me.  First, let me say that she also was a mother of two (I had just the two girls at that time).  Her younger child also had autism.  She too was (and still is) a Christian. She also did a joint degree program (a juris doctor and masters) just like me.  She said, “You know Nalida. Thank God our kids have these disabilities.  Look at us.  We have a JD and a masters. We could have just been in corporate America just making all this money!”  I just looked at her and nodded.  But in my head I was was thinking, “And would that have been so bad??”

I smiled to myself then and now because I really KNEW what she meant.  Our focus could have been only with making it to the top–making money and connections.  Perhaps we would have lost focus.  Perhaps we would have become arrogant.  Perhaps we would have lost sight of the dignity of those most vulnerable.  Perhaps we would have lost sight of God–that would have been the worst tragedy.  Only God knows.

All I know now is that the Lord chose this path for me.  I love my family and I love my work.  There are times that I feel sad when I think about my children’s limitations.  My younger daughter with autism struggles so much with reading. She is 11 and cannot even read at the first grade level.  I get so sad watching her struggling and work with her as well as pray for her that she will develop more educationally and socially.  I try not to worry about the future, but that is an ongoing struggle on which I have to work and about which I have to pray.

But there are many days that I just look at my children, see their smiles and joyful moments, feel their hugs, and hear their I love yous and feel so grateful to God that I could just cry tears of joys. My husband and children have brought me so much happiness that my constant prayer is for us to have a long, happy life together and into eternity in heaven.  I am eternally grateful to God for the gift of my family.

About nalidabesson

I am a wife and mother of three children. My husband is blind from congenital cataracts. He is a talented musician. (Hear selections from his instrumental Gospel album at www.cdbaby.com/michaelbesson ). My children had a 50/50 chance of inheriting it and all three did. Besides being legally blind, my kids have additional disabilities including autism spectrum disorders, seizure condition, learning disorder, and developmental delays. They are wonderful, happy children and I thank the Lord for allowing me to be their mother. All people deserve the right to life. Children (unborn and born) around the world with disabilities are targeted for abortion and euthanasia because of their disabilities. We should protect their lives because all lives are precious in God's eye. And even if someone does not believe in God, scientifically, every person from conception is a person. I am a teacher of students who are blind and visually impaired, some with other disabilities. I also have a background in law and public adminstration, having graduated from law school and management school before pursuing a career in special education. I believe in life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness for ALL--unborn and born, with disabilities and without.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

