A Beautiful Life, A Beautiful Boy

My 3-year old boy.

My beautiful boy Mikey.

This is a post that I put on my FB page on my son’s third birthday in May 2010.

Today, May 1, my beautiful son turns three! He has been a balm to my soul and I love him very much. Some didn’t want him to be born. And my midwife wanted me to abort him for the same reason: I already had two other children with disabilities.  She did say, “whatever you decide.” But when you even bring up abortion to a mother, it is a suggestion to do so, otherwise the topic would not have even been brought up, especially at an initial visit with another provider.  I did not ask about abortion.  She asked the nurse to ask me to see her in her office after my visit with the nurse.  Of course I was disappointed at the suggestion as she had been my midwife with my first two and actually delivered my second.
Women don’t want abortions. They feel like they have NO other choice. (for post-abortive healing and testimonies see www.rachelsvineyard.org, www.silentnomoreawareness.org, and www.priestsforlife.org). From the moment I was pregnant with my son, I was asked several times if I was going to keep him. My midwife said I had too much on my plate already, especially with an autistic daughter, and suggested that I abort him. Some people openly pitied me. I was caught unawares–I thought females were pressured into having an abortion when they are very young, or perhaps in school, but not a grown, married woman. I learned that the culture of death is so rampant that no female is immuned from it’s ugly clutches. I thank God every day now for helping me be strong enough to say I choose life for my son. Yes, he was also born with a disability. And when I see him with his thick, cokebottle glasses, walking off balance with his severely pronated feet, smiling and coming to hug my legs, I thank the Lord again for a beautiful life and the lessons of unconditional love and the dignity of every human life. I am so grateful for my three children!
About nalidabesson

I am a wife and mother of three children. My husband is blind from congenital cataracts. He is a talented musician. (Hear selections from his instrumental Gospel album at www.cdbaby.com/michaelbesson ). My children had a 50/50 chance of inheriting it and all three did. Besides being legally blind, my kids have additional disabilities including autism spectrum disorders, seizure condition, learning disorder, and developmental delays. They are wonderful, happy children and I thank the Lord for allowing me to be their mother. All people deserve the right to life. Children (unborn and born) around the world with disabilities are targeted for abortion and euthanasia because of their disabilities. We should protect their lives because all lives are precious in God's eye. And even if someone does not believe in God, scientifically, every person from conception is a person. I am a teacher of students who are blind and visually impaired, some with other disabilities. I also have a background in law and public adminstration, having graduated from law school and management school before pursuing a career in special education. I believe in life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness for ALL--unborn and born, with disabilities and without.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Beautiful Life, A Beautiful Boy

  1. Eli says:

    Wow! I can’t believe the midwife said that. So glad Mikey is here to make you smile. 😉

Leave a Reply

